top of page
  • Writer's pictureNicole Newton

Walkout like a boss


In class we briefly discussed the Walkout that is scheduled for this Wednesday. It is to honor the fallen victims from the Parkland school shooting. March 14 will be the one month anniversary of the shooting. Students around the nation are planning to walk outside for 17 minutes to honor every person who died on this day. This topic has been a dinner table conversation in my house for about a week now.


My dad is currently the principal at a local high school. He's been thinking of ways to get the walkout to be done in an orderly fashion. I've gotten to hear all of the concerns of a principal, and it's really interesting to be listening from the inside.


He is concerned about the safety of his students. The fact that this event is well known to people all over the world is a bit scary. What I mean is that everyone knows what exact time these students are walking outside, and for how long. The school can't protect its students as well if they are all standing in front of the building. If there's a person in the community against this walkout you never know what they could do.


It's terrible to have to think like this. The walkout is supposed to honor students who lost their lives to a school shooter. Schools have to think about the possibility of this happening in their own hometowns. My dad is not against the walkout. He just wants to make sure his students are as safe as they can be.


Originally, he had the plan to send them to the Auditorium. He said he would allow signs, and maybe have some sort of activity planned to honor the lives of the people. He asked for my advice often, and has been stressing constantly. I told him that students would probably walk outside anyways, because that's what they're really supposed to do. He agreed, and is now letting them go outside.


One day, I would love to be a principal. Being a part of tough conversations like these is almost a free internship for me. I get to see and to hear all of the tough decisions he makes everyday. This is a nationwide thing, and my dad has to make some hard decisions. He has to keep the students safe, while also allowing them to do what they believe in.


When my dad comes home with a case like this one, I try to think about what I would do if I were principal. For the walkout, I would allow students outside. It's a nation wide event, and high schoolers won't be stopped anyways. There is a concern of safety. I would call the local police and see if some of them would come by for the duration. I would also have an adequate amount of staff outside to oversee it, so that it's not a free for all. Signs are okay, as long as they are school appropriate. I would also send a letter home explaining to parents what the plan is.


Something so monumental like this should be allowed, as long as students are being kept safe. Being an administrator is tough work. Sometimes you have to be the bad guy in order to do what you think is best for the school and its students. One day I hope to be making my own tough decisions, while also creating a positive school environment.




9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page