top of page
  • Writer's pictureNicole Newton

Experiences are worth a lifetime



I'm not sure about any of you, but in most of my education up until college, I was lectured at by every teacher, in every subject. Very few gave me engaging, worthwhile experiences that stand out. The ones that did, I remember quite well. I not only remember what they did that was so engaging, but I also remember the material that was taught that day.


In my 4th grade class each group of four students had a giant plastic bin full of dirt. We all got our hands dirty and built a giant dirt mound. Then, we poured water, and rocks, and other paraphernalia on the dirt, and watched it erode. These buckets were kept in our classroom for weeks, to show the gradual effects of erosion.


I'm not a science person. But, I will never forget Mr. Englert's 4th grade lesson on Erosion. It was fun, it was engaging, and it was dirty. What kid doesn't want to be full of dirt when they come home from school? It was like recess during Science class. That was 9 years ago, and I still remember the feelings of giddiness and eagerness that I had.


The point is...make teaching an EXPERIENCE for students. They will remember what you taught them far more, if it MEANS something to them. Teachers should give their students multiple opportunities to be successful. Maybe one student really likes videos, and they absorb the information. Maybe another student likes to use their hands, with different activities, to learn.


Every student is different. It is not enough to stand in front of a class and talk at them for an hour. They will listen to about 10 minutes, if that. Students don't care about everything you have to say to them. They have no connection to the material. Unless, you make them have a connection.


Ask for their input. Have students share their own thoughts on a subject. You can do this with debates, presentations or even just group work. It's okay for the teacher to take a step back, and let their students TALK a little bit. Sometimes in high school I would go 7 hours without speaking, except in the hallways with my friends. That wasn't enjoyable, and I have nothing to tell anyone about those days.


My favorite class ever was my 10th grade English class. We acted out Shakespeare. We had quote competitions, and used each other as peer editors. My class went bowling outside of school, and we each brought a book wrapped up for a book exchange. It was a community of students looking forward to class, and I loved it. My teacher had so much passion for what she taught, it was infectious.


Students have to feel like they matter. There has to be a reason for them to participate in your class. So many students don't participate, because they're not at all interested or involved in what the teacher is saying. Make the classroom inviting. Have fun projects, and spice things up a bit once in a while. If students get used to the same thing everyday, it won't be an experience for anyone.



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page